Each Program Advisory Committee (PAC) is comprised of a chair and up to 5 members. The PACs are formed to review proposals submitted to a particular AS beamline, i.e. there is one PAC per beamline.

The roles of the PACs are:

  • To review proposals for use of the facility and to make recommendations for the allocation of resources if this is appropriate

  • To monitor the experimental program and utilisation of the facility

  • To make recommendations to the User Office and Director on issues relating to the beamline where necessary

  • To provide comments to be given as feedback to users on the outcome of their proposal and on how to improve future proposals

  • To, in conjunction with beamline staff, make recommendations on the number of shifts to be allocated to a particular proposal.

Macromolecular Crystallography PAC 

Alice Vrielink (co-chair) University of Western Australia
Jack Clegg (co-chair) University of Queensland
Jade Forwood Charles Sturt University
Isabelle Lucet WEHI
Christopher Squire The University of Auckland
Marc Kvansakul La Trobe University
Jonathan White The University of Melbourne

Powder Diffraction PAC

Mark Styles (chair) CSIRO
Michael Cortie University of Technology Sydney
Talitha Santini University of Queensland
Zaiping Guo University of Wollongong
Suzanne Neville University of New South Wales
Fang Xia Murdoch University

Infrared PAC

Ewan Blanch (chair) RMIT
Saulius Juodkazis Swinburne University
Ludo Dumee Deakin University
Alex Nichols University of Canterbury
Courtney Ennis La Trobe University
Marta Krasowska University of South Australia
Annette Dowd University of Technology Sydney

Imaging & Medical PAC

Megan Wallace (chair) Monash University
Ian Schipper Victoria Uni Wellington
Jessica Lye ARPANSA
Merrick Mahoney University of Newcastle
Kate Trinajstic Curtin University
Marcus Kitchen Monash University

Soft X-Ray PAC

Jennifer MacLeod (chair) Queensland University of Technology
Martin Allen University of Canterbury
Chris McConville RMIT
Ian Gentle University of Queensland
Luhua Li Deakin University
Dongchen Qi La Trobe University

Microspectroscopy PAC

Mark Hackett (chair) Curtin University
Barbara Etschmann Monash University
Erica Donner University of South Australia
William Bennett Griffith University
Simon James Florey Institute
Margaux Le Vaillant CSIRO


Michael Griffin (Bio co-chair) The University of Melbourne
Tamar Greaves (Materials co-chair) RMIT University
Cara Doherty CSIRO
Idriss Blakey University of Queensland
Matthew Rowles Curtin University
Renwick Dobson University of Canterbury


Scott Johnston (chair) Southern Cross University
Aaron Marshall University of Canterbury
David Waite University of NSW
Siegbert Schmid The University of Sydney
Claire Weekley The University of Melbourne
Joel Brugger Monash University


Amanda Edgley (chair) University of Melbourne
Stephen Best University of Melbourne
Gary Bryant RMIT University
Katy Evans Curtin University
Anna Paradowska ANSTO
Sarah Harmer-Bassell Flinders University