Call for nominations: 2017 Australian Synchrotron Stephen Wilkins Medal

Continuing a tradition set up by the Australian Synchrotron Research Program (ASRP), ANSTO is seeking submissions for the ANSTO, Australian Synchrotron Thesis Medal, named in honour of Dr Stephen Wilkins. 

The 2011 Australian Synchrotron Thesis Medal was awarded jointly to Dr Kaye Morgan and Dr Corey Putkunz, who completed their PhD studies at Monash University and La Trobe University respectively. The Medals were presented at the Australian Synchrotron User Meeting on 8-9 December 2011.

The joint winners of the 2011 Australian Synchrotron Thesis Medal are Kaye Morgan (Monash University) and Corey Putkunz (PhD from La Trobe University, now at Melbourne University).

Potassium plays a surprising but essential role in the bacteria behind illnesses such as gastroenteritis and Legionnaires’ disease, as revealed by 2012 synchrotron thesis medal winner Miriam-Rose Ash.

The 2008 Australian Synchrotron Thesis Medal in biology and life sciences was awarded to Melbourne entrant Dr Fleur Tynan.